Backward VSOP JAZZ Catalog Forward

VSOP92   V.S.O.P. #92
MODE 204

Lanny Morgan (alto), Tom Ranier (piano), Bob Maize (bass), Frank Capp (drums)


  • Flash (Tom Garvin) 4:45
  • Subconscious Lee (Lee Konitz) 6:47
  • Strollin' (Horace Silver) 8:29
  • Cherokee (Ray Noble) 5:04
  • Joy Spring (Clifford Brown) 8:45
  • You've Changed (H. Carey, C. Fischer) 7:51
  • Minority (Gigi Gryce) 6:10
  • Bloomdido (Charlie Parker) 7:42
  • After You've Gone (H. Creamer, T. Layton) 6:06





Price: $13.00/each


Add this CD to shopping cart

Recorded, June 11 and 13, 1993, at Sage & Sound Recording Studios, Los Angeles; Producer: V.S.O.P. RECORDS; Engineer: Jim Mooney; Mastering: John Jungklaus; Cover Design: Karl Hubenthal; Liner Notes: Scott Yanow.

For this quartet date, Lanny Morgan has selected a repertoire that is representative of his many years as an integral part of the New York and Los Angeles jazz scenes and his extensive recording career with Maynard Ferguson, Supersax, Bill Holman, Bob Florence and Bill Berry. The fine rhythm section comprised of Frank Capp, Bob Maize and Tom Ranier, who frequently make up a quartet with Lanny that is active in the Los Angeles area, gives this session an energy that is often lacking in the studio. Lanny Morgan's technique and tone are well deserving of appreciation and this quartet session puts them squarely in the limelight. A very well engineered recording by Jim Mooney, and excellent playing by all.