Backward VSOP JAZZ Catalog Forward

VSOP91   V.S.O.P. #91

Pete Jolly (piano), Ralph Pena (b), Chuck Berghofer (b)*, Nick Martinis (d)*.


  • Oleo (Sonny Rollins)
  • Time After Time (Sammy Cahn, Jule Styne)
  • Falling In Love With Love (Rodgers, Hart)
  • The Red Door (Zoot Sims)
  • Blues In The Closet (Oscar Pettiford)
  • I'm Beginning To See The Light (James, Ellington, Hodges, George)
  • Some Day My Prince Will Come (Larry Morey, Frank Churchill)
  • Yeah! (Horace Sliver)
  • Whistle While You Work (Larry Morey, Frank Churchill)
  • Bluesette (Toots Thielemans)





Price: $13.00/each


Add this CD to shopping cart

Engineer: George Jerman. Session Producers: George Jerman, Howard Roberts. Album Producer: V.S.O.P. RECORDS.

"Oleo", "Time After Time", "Falling In Love With Love": recorded in 1961 at Sherry's Bar: Pete Jolly (p), Ralph Pena (b). "The Red Door": recorded at Sherry's Bar, 5/29/62; Pete Jolly (p), (b) and (d) unknown. "Blues In The Closet", "I'm Beginning To See The Light", "Some Day My Prince Will Come": recorded 10/11/60 at Sherry's Bar; Pete Jolly (p), Chuck Berghofer (b), Nick Martinis (d). "Yeah!", "Whistle While You Work", "Bluesette": recorded at the Red Chimney, 2/27/65; Pete Jolly (p), Chuck Berghofer (b), Nick Martinis (d).

Another fine set of recordings made by photographer George Jerman during the early to mid 1960s in Los Angeles, this program presents Pete Jolly in a live context. At this point in his career, Pete Jolly's playing is very energetic, and as faultless as it always has been and continues to be. The audio quality of these recordings is quite good and the playing stupendous. It is quite obvious that these musicians loved what they were doing. With over 72 minutes of music this compact disc is an excellent value both in terms of quality and quantity.