Backward VSOP JAZZ Catalog Forward

VSOP90   V.S.O.P. #90

Jack Sheldon (t,vo.), Frank Rosolino (trb, vo.), Johnny Mercer (vo.), Joe Mondragon (b), Howard Roberts (g), Jack Marshall (g), Shelly Manne (d), Stan Levey (d)*.



  • On Green Dolphin Street (Branislav Kaper)
  • How Long, How Long Blues (Leroy Carr)
  • Pennies From Heaven (A. Johnston)
  • Days of Wine and Roses (Mancini, Mercer)
  • Charade (Mancini, Mercer)
  • What Kind of Fool Am I (Bricusse, Newley)
  • Killer Joe (Benny Golson)
  • She's A Woman (Lennon, McCartney)
  • Born To Lose (Brown, Sheldon)
  • Steeplechase (Charlie Parker)
  • The Atomic Bomb (Jack Sheldon)
  • Royce Hall Blues (Johnny Mercer)





Price: $13.00/each


Add this CD to shopping cart

Tracks 1,2,4,5,6 and 9, recorded at Harbor High, Costa Mesa in March or April, 1964. Tracks 3, 7, 8, 10, 11, 12, recorded at Royce Hall, U.C.L.A., on March 1, 1965*. Engineer: George Jerman. Session Producers: George Jerman & Howard Roberts. Album Producer: V.S.O.P. RECORDS.

This presentation of Jack Sheldon in a live concert setting, joined by one of the finest crew of musicians that can be assembled is a rare treat. The program consists of live recordings made by photographer George Jerman at two concerts in 1964 and 1965. In the first concert given at Harbor High in Costa Mesa in 1964, Jack Sheldon, Frank Rosolino, Howard Roberts, Joe Mondargon, and Shelly Manne are joined by Johnny Mercer for a program of straight-ahead jazz, vocals and comedy. For the second concert, recorded a year later at Royce Hall, Jack Marshall is added to the band, and Stan Levey replaces Shelly Manne, but the program continues with the same kind of irreverence and energy. The sound quality is quite good, and the musicianship outstanding. This is a fun CD that should not be missed. Stereo.