Backward VSOP JAZZ Catalog Forward

VSOP89   V.S.O.P. #89
MODE 203

w/Herb Geller (alto, soprano sax, vocal), Tom Ranier (piano), John Leitham (bass), Louis Bellson (drums), Jimmy Rowles (piano).


  • The Red Door (Zoot Sims) 5:45
  • Chromatic Cry (Herb Geller) 7:39
  • Maybe September (Percy Faith) 6:30
  • Stars In My Eyes (Herb Geller) 5:16
  • Bankin' On Bank (Herb Geller) 6:22
  • Midnight Memories (Herb Geller) 9:03
  • Stand-Up Comic (Herb Geller) 6:02
  • The Peacocks (Jimmy Rowles) 6:34
  • This Is New (Kurt Weill) 5:07
  • Soon (Stephen Sondheim) 6:12
  • Isfahan (Billy Strayhorn) 6:11


Price: $13.00/each



Add this CD to shopping cart


Recorded August 5 and 6, 1993, at Sage & Sound, Hollywood, CA. Engineer: Jim Mooney; Producer: Peter Jacobson; Asst Producers: Dick Bank, Herb Geller.

Saxophonist Herb Geller's newest recording provides over 70 minutes of excellent music. Herb performs on alto and soprano sax and sings on one of his new compositions devoted to comedian and friend Lenny Bruce. Jimmy Rowles replaces Tom Ranier on his composition "The Peacocks". This is one of the finest recordings Herb has made in recent years and marks a welcome return of his talent to the Hollywood jazz scene.