Backward VSOP JAZZ Catalog Forward


V.S.O.P. #58
MODE 113

w/Joanne Grauer (piano), Ruddy Clark (bass), Mel Lewis (drums)



  • Mood For Mode (Joanne Grauer)
  • Have You Met Miss Jones (Rodgers, Hart)
  • Invitation (Brdunislau Kaper)
  • Happy Is The Sheepherder (Mary Belew)
  • I'll Remember April (Raye, De Paul, Johnston)
  • Dancing Nitely (Bill Holman)
  • I'm Glad There Is You (Madeira, Dorsey)
  • The Song Is You (Kern, Hammerstein)


Price: $13.00/each



Add this CD to shopping cart

Recorded July, 1957. Hollywood, CA. Producer: Red Clyde
Engineer: Bones Howe; Liner Notes: Joe Quinn
Cover Portrait: Eva Diana

V.S.O.P. RECORDS is pleased to announce the release of V.S.O.P. #58 CD  Mode 113 The Joanne Grauer Trio.  Joanne Grauer was a Hollywood born and raised, classically trained pianist, who turned to jazz at an early age after listening to Johnny Williams, Horace Silver and Hampton Hawes.  She started working professionally at the age of 15 at the Million Dollar Theater, and made her debut recording for Mode Records a couple of years later.  Joanne Grauer has a hip, jaunty style that fits right in with the other fine pianists that recorded for Mode.  She sometimes favors Carl Perkins’ approach , and at other times sounds more like Marty Paich.  In the end, her own individual style stands out.  On this fine recording she is more than ably assisted by Buddy Clark and Mel Lewis, whose playing clearly reveals how much they enjoyed the session.

The music on this CD includes an original composition by Joanne Grauer, “Mood for Mode”; Bill Holman’s “Dancing Nitely”; and  six standards.  In recent years, Joanne Grauer has had quite a varied career.  She has performed on several releases by Folk singer John Fahey, produced some recordings of her own, and performed on jazz and contemporary jazz LPs released by Sheffield Labs.  Her Mode Records release is one of her most critically acclaimed efforts.  It received a four and a half star rating from the All-Music Guide.  A very impressive piano trio recording.