Backward VSOP JAZZ Catalog Forward

VSOP28   V.S.O.P. #28
Tampa 33

Gerald Wiggins (piano), Joe Comfort (bass), Bill Douglas (drums).


  • Love For Sale 4:01 (Cole Porter)
  • I Don't Know What Kind of Blues I Got 6:32 (Duke Ellington)
  • De Silva Wig 4:30 (Gerald Wiggins)
  • Laura 3:12 (Raskin, Mercer)
  • Surrey With The Fringe On Top 2:41 (Rodgers, Hammerstein)
  • Dinah 3:29 (Akst, Lewis, Young)
  • All That's Good 5:48 (Gerald Wiggins)
  • The Man That Got Away 5:48 (Arlen, Gershwin)
  • Three Little Words 3:27 (Kalmar, Ruby)


Price: $11.00/each


Add this CD to shopping cart

Recorded, 1956, Capitol Records Studios, Hollywood, CA.
Producer: Sleepy Stein
Engineer: John Kraus
Liner Notes: Sleepy Stein
Cover Design: Johnny Miller.

During the mid-1950's Gerald Wiggins was quite busy as a sideman on many recordings and studio dates, usually in the company of Buddy Collette, John Anderson, Joe Comfort, Curtis Counce and many others. His ability as a pianist was recognized and appreciated. Made in 1956, this session is one of several recorded by Gerald Wiggins that year, and an excellent example of his lyrical style, energy and fine musicianship.