Backward VSOP JAZZ Catalog Forward


VSOP112 Laurie Allyn: Paradise   V.S.O.P. #112


w/Warne Marsh (tenor); Joe Albany (piano); Von [Bob] Whitlock (bass); Red Martinson (drums).


  • The Things I Love (Barlow, Harris)
  • > Dahoud (Clifford Brown)
  • Now's The Time (Charlie Parker)
  • > Billie's Bounce (Charlie Parker)
  • Body And Soul (Heyman, Green)
  • > Limehouse Blues (Furber, Braham)
  • Love Is Here To Stay (G. & I. Gershwin)
  • > I've Got You Under My Skin (Cole Porter)
  • Once In Awhile (Green, Edwards)
  • >Night And Day (Cole Porter)


  • My Little Suede Shoes (Charlie Parker)
  • > Darn That Dream (De Lange, Van Heusen)
  • After You've Gone (Greamer, Layton, Harris)
  • > Easy To Love (Cole Porter)
  • S'Wonderful (G. & I. Gershwin)
  • > Tea For Two (Youmans, Caesar)
  • The Song Is You (Kern, Hammerstein)
  • > The Way You Look Tonight (Kern, Fields)


Price: $22.00/each


Add this CD to shopping cart



Recorded October 7, 1957, Dana Point, CA
Engineer: Dick Stambaugh
Liner Notes: Safford Chamberlain
CD Booklet Design: Mario Levesque
Photos: William Claxton

V.S.O.P. RECORDS is pleased to announce the release of V.S.O.P. #112 CD THE WARNE MARSH QUARTET featuring JOE ALBANY: LIVE AT DANA POINT, 1957.  This two-CD set contains the entire evening’s performance of this quartet from October 7, 1957, recorded at the Galleon Room in Dana Point, CA.  Released in the original  stereo, the personnel includes in addition to Marsh and Albany, Von (Bob) Whitlock and a local drummer named Red Martinson: three of the four members of Joe Albany’s quartet on the release entitled The Right Combination on Riverside.   Both Warne Marsh and Joe Albany are in fine form.  The sound is well-recorded stereo, clearly live but with excellent presence, especially in the case of  Warne Marsh, something that was not the norm for his non-studio recordings made before the 1970’s.

This program features unusual material for Tristanoite Warne Marsh.  Most of the evening’s performance consists of standards.  In addition, the group performs three Charlie Parker compositions, two of which “Now’s The Time” and “Billie’s Bounce” are played back-to-back (despite being quite similar tunes).  This presents Warne Marsh in quite a different light from his other recordings of this period.  While still deconstructing the melody and improvising in his unique manner, Marsh displays a more emotional and straightforward approach here, probably in response to the cues he is getting from fellow band members Albany and Whitlock.   Joe Albany is, as he often is, his own man, contrasting his melodic and expansive interpretation of the many standards performed that night with Marsh’s somewhat  more cerebral approach.  Nevertheless, the two complement each other very well and offer a wonderful,  informal and unpressured example of  working through ideas before a small dinner club audience.  Red Martinson’s fans make their presence known throughout the evening, but without detracting from the listenability of these recordings.  This is a  very enjoyable and lively recording preserving for posterity some unique moments in modern jazz.  Excellent liner notes by Warne Marsh biographer Safford Chamberlain.