Backward VSOP JAZZ Catalog Forward



With The Page Cavanaugh Quartet, The Page Seven, Shelly Manne & His Men, and The Buddy De Franco/Tommy Gumina Quintet.



  • Someone To Watch Over Me (G & I Gershwin)

  • I Hear Music (F. Loesser, B. Lane)
  • Trouble Is A Man (Alec Wilder)
  • Breezin' Along With The Breeze (Gillespie, Simmons, Whiting)
  • Little Girl Blue (Rodgers, Hart)
  • Wrap Your Troubles In Dreams (Koehler, Moll, Barris)
  • 'Deed I Do (Hirsch, Rose)
  • Love Me Or Leave Me (Donaldson. Kahn)
  • No Place To Go (Sue Raney, Ed Yellin)
  • Five Definitions Of Love (Dorough, Ghertler, Greenberg)
  • With A Little Help From My Friends (Lennon, McCartney)
  • My Love Is A Wanderer (Bart Howard)
  • Umbrellas Of Cherbourg (M. Legrand)
  • Wrap Your Troubles In Dreams (Koehler, Moll, Barris)
  • Burnt Sugar (Sue Rancy)
  • I Ain't Got Nobody (Graham, Williams)
  • 'Deed I Do (Hirsch, Rose)
  • Breezin' Along With The Breeze (Gillespie, Simmons, Whiting)
  • Goodbye Charlie (Previn, Langdon)
  • Bluesette (Gimbel, Thielemans)


Price: $13.00/each


Add this CD to shopping cart



V.S.O.P. RECORDS is pleased to announce the release of STUDIO WEST #108 CD SUE RANEY: VOLUME II. This is the second volume of Sue Raney recordings from the vaults of Programs Inc., to be released on Studio West. Like the first CD, STUDIO WEST #107 SUE RANEY: "Breatheless", these recordings were made at Universal Recorders during the 1960's by Vil Vohler and leased to the Department of the Navy for use in the recruitment show, "The Navy Swings". Sue is backed up by the same great groups: Shelly Manne's quintet, Page Cavanaugh's quartet and septet, and the Buddy De Franco/Tommy Gumina quartet

Recorded at United Recorders, Hollywood, CA
Session Producer: Vil Vohler, Programs, Inc.
Album Producer: M.A.C./V.S.O.P., Inc.
Mastering: Jamie McComber
Liner Notes: Scott Yanow
Cover & Liner Photos, courtesy of Sue Raney.

Sue Raney is one of the most highly regarded vocalists in jazz today. Her performances on this CD and its predecessor demonstrate her considerable technique and natural talent. Volume II features several compositions written by Sue Raney: "Burnt Sugar" and "No Place To Go" (co-written with Ed Yellin), both well crafted songs that reveal the depth of her musical writing ability. She also performs Michel Legrand's "Umbrellas of Cherbourg", Alec Wilder's "Trouble Is A Man", Bob Dorough's "Five Definitions of Love", and numerous standards and popular songs. There are also several alternate takes (and/or master takes) to four selections that were included on "Breathless". While most of the selections are relatively brief due to the format of the 15 minute recruitment shows, the music does not suffer and this material is very enjoyable to listen to.